Flickr, finally

Meyer Library, Stanford University

image by Peter Kaminski

Flickr. Things 9 and 10 were looking at Flickr, using images and Creative Commons licences. I was looking forward to finding out more, as I didn’t really understand Creative Commons. I did read everything and then hunted around for some more but I still feel a bit vague about what the licences mean. Lots of people raved about how wonderful Flickr was in their blog posts. It even elicited enthusiasm from Miss Crail, but for me it was more of a “oh, okay”. I don’t really have a huge amount to say about it.

I think a resource like Flickr has obvious value when searching for images to use in presentations, posters, promotional material, websites, and so on. I like the Library of Congress using it to identify mystery photos. I’m not otherwise convinced of the usefulness of Flickr to libraries – maybe as a version of “push technology” where photos of events, acquisitions or buildings are pushed out onto Flickr to find people there rather than expecting people to come to the library or university/institution website. I just wonder how many people will stumble across such photos on Flickr. Those people who find the images or photostreams are probably already looking for it.

I do love the Flickr colour search mentioned by Josh H. So pretty. Not specifically useful for libraries but, did I mention that it’s pretty? Look! Purple and yellow!

image by Matteotarenghi

I used Compfight to limit my search to Creative Commons only. Flickr is a fascinating resource, with lots of pictures to gaze at. There’s no doubt that the best pictures I found were not Creative Commons licensed and therefore I didn’t want to use them in my blog (despite what Andy says). Most of the photos are still much better than anything I could manage myself though, so I’ve added a lovely picture of the Meyer Library at Stanford University where I worked. This building doesn’t house many books any more, just computing and seminar rooms, 24hr study areas and Technical Services (the 1989 earthquake left the building unsuitable for books but apparently eminently suitable for cataloguers). I just heard it’s due to be demolished in 2012.

3 comments so far

  1. Josh H on

    Compfight looks really awesome.

    for me it was more of a “oh, okay”. I don’t really have a huge amount to say about it.
    I think this is spot-on.

  2. Girl in the Moon on

    Well done on writing the post – have a biscuit!

    the 1989 earthquake left the building unsuitable for books but apparently eminently suitable for cataloguers

    Eek! I don’t like the sound of that, but I suppose it’s the sort of compromise that has to be made in an earthquake zone.

  3. Céline on

    Thanks Josh, can’t remember who pointed out Compfight, might have been Ange Fitzpatrick maybe?

    Hurrah a biscuit, GintheM!

    Yes, I had earthquake training in my first week of work there. Bit alarming. I just loved that we were in there because it wasn’t good enough for books.


Leave a comment